Spot an obvious email scam

December 1, 2005

Here’s a useful tip for Opera users (those who use its built in email client). When you suspect a scam email (that which is not being sent from a legit sender), you can easily find out if you’re right or not. Just check out the email’s header information. Click the button called “Display all headers” and inspect the information that follows. You’ll see something like the following:

Received: from root by ns.crystalsites.com with local (Exim 4.52) id 1Egh1E-00036b-VT for atunu@gawab.com; Mon, 28 Nov 2005 17:18:00 +0600
X-Trusted: Greylisted
To:xyx@gawab.com
Subject:[75364] Read Quraan Shareef Online [Arabic/Bengali/English].
X-Sender:quraanshareef@gmail.com
MIME-Version:1.0
Content-Type:text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
Message-ID:
Date: Mon, 28 Nov 2005 17:18:00 +0600
X-AntiAbuse:Sender Address Domain - ns.crystalsites.com
X-Source: /usr/bin/php
X-Source-Args:/usr/bin/php /home/tmc/mailsend.php
X-Source-Dir: /home/tmc

Notice those portions in BOLD letters? If they are the same, then you’ve received a legit email from a real sender. But in this case, they are not the same..so that obviously means that you’re being tricked. Its an automated mail bot thats trying to mail you disguising itself under the “Gmail” name.

So people, inspect and check that mole threat from next time ;)

Comments »

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://naser.blogsome.com/2005/12/01/spot-an-obvious-email-scam/trackback/

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>



Anti-spam measure: please retype the above text into the box provided.

Get free blog up and running in minutes with Blogsome | Theme designs available here