Spot an obvious email scam in Opera
Here’s a useful tip for Opera users (those who use its built in email client). When you suspect a scam email (that which is not being sent from a legit sender), you can easily find out if you’re right or not. Just check out the email’s header information. Click the button called “Display all headers” and inspect the information that follows. You’ll see something like the following:
X-Trusted: Greylisted
To:xyx@gawab.com
Subject:[75364] Read Quraan Shareef Online [Arabic/Bengali/English].
X-Sender:quraanshareef@gmail.com
MIME-Version:1.0
Content-Type:text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
Message-ID:
Date: Mon, 28 Nov 2005 17:18:00 +0600
X-AntiAbuse:Sender Address Domain - ns.crystalsites.com
X-Source: /usr/bin/php
X-Source-Args:/usr/bin/php /home/tmc/mailsend.php
X-Source-Dir: /home/tmc
Notice those portions in UNDERLINED letters? If they are the same, then you’ve received a legit email from a real sender. But in this case, they are not the same..so that obviously means that you’re being tricked. Its an automated mail bot thats trying to mail you disguising itself under the “Gmail” name.
So people, inspect and check that mole threat from next time
